Board of Directors

TABC is a Texas nonprofit corporation. Its governing body is a 15-member Board of Directors, plus the Association's officers and its immediate past president. The officers include: the TABC President, President-Elect, Vice President, and Secretary-Treasurer. TABC Officers and Directors are elected by TABC members at the Annual Convention held each October. TABC Officers terms are for one year. Directors’ terms are for three years, with one-third of the 15 elected each year.

Historically, the TABC Board of Directors has had a geographic balance, as well as a balance between member lawyers from major cities who primarily represent larger banking organizations and lawyers who represent community banks from smaller communities. Similarly, TABC Officers positions alternate between lawyers from Texas's larger cities and smaller communities.

TABC Board of Directors

PositionFull NameOrganizationCity
PresidentMr. J. Scott SheehanGreenberg Traurig, LLPHouston
President-ElectMs. Annette L. TrippProsperity BankSugar Land
Vice PresidentMs. Carrie L. CogburnBBVA Compass BankHouston
Secretary/TreasurerMr. John M. HeasleyTexas Bankers AssociationAustin
Immediate Past PresidentMs. Erin F. FonteDykema Cox SmithAustin
DirectorMr. Bryan T. AbrahamWoodforest National BankThe Woodlands
DirectorMs. Jacqueline S. AkinsUSAA Federal Savings BankSan Antonio
DirectorMr. Jack P. DriskillMcWhorter Cobb and Johnson, LLPLubbock
DirectorMr. Patrick R. HancheyAlston & Bird LLPDallas
DirectorMr. Terrance F. HendersonComerica BankDallas
DirectorMr. Thomas HigierHigier Allen & Lautin, P.C.Dallas
DirectorMr. William P. HuttenbachHirsch & Westheimer, P.C.Houston
DirectorMs. Debra G. JamesGreer Herz & Adams, LLPGalveston
DirectorMs. Shanna KuzdzalAllegiance BankHouston
DirectorMr. Elmer Murphey, IIIStrasburger & Price, LLPDallas
DirectorMr. Paul R. Penny, IIIAmerican National Bank of TexasFort Worth
DirectorMs. Catharine Kelly RentzelTexas Capital Bank, N.A.Dallas
DirectorMr. Raymond H. Rust, IIICommercial Bank of Texas, N.A.Nacogdoches
DirectorMr. Karl W. VancilKarl W. Vancil, Attorney at LawBallinger
DirectorMr. John D. Wittenberg, Jr.Frost BankSan Antonio
Advisory DirectorProf. John KrahmerTexas Tech University School of LawLubbock
Advisory DirectorMs. Karen M. NeeleyKennedy Sutherland LLPAustin