The Ozona National Bank converts to a state-chartered

The Ozona National Bank, headquartered in Ozona, has completed its conversion to a Texas state-chartered bank from a national banking association. The bank began operating under its new charter as Ozona Bank on June 25.

 A wholly owned subsidiary of ONB Bancshares, Inc, Ozona Bank was originally chartered in June 1905 and will enter the state banking system with approximately $300 million in assets. FDIC deposit insurance coverage for all deposits will continue without interruption or change.

The bank’s executive team is led by Chairman James Oliver and President and Chief Executive Officer Kelly Barclay. The bank has branch banking offices in Wimberley, San Marcos and San Antonio, in addition to its main facility in Ozona.

“I welcome Ozona Bank to the Texas state banking system and salute its history of providing safe and sound financial services for more than 115 years,” Banking Commissioner Charles G. Cooper stated.