Senate Banking Committee Passes Bipartisan Reg Reform Bill

Dec. 6, 2017

The Senate Banking Committee yesterday passed S. 2155, the bipartisan regulatory reform bill championed by Sen. Mike Crapo (R-Idaho) and Sens. Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Heidi Heitkamp (D-N.D.), Mark Warner (D-Va.) and Joe Donnelly (D-Ind.). The bill includes several provisions that are part of ABA’s Blueprint for Growth, including a Qualified Mortgage designation for mortgages held in portfolio, a substantial increase in the SIFI designation threshold and relief from stress tests and exam requirements for certain institutions. 

“Today’s bipartisan 16-7 vote in the Senate Banking Committee for financial regulatory reform legislation shows what can happen when lawmakers on both sides of the aisle work together for the good of the American people,” said ABA President and CEO Rob Nichols. “This bill includes commonsense changes to the nation’s financial rules that will allow banks to better serve their customers and communities.” Read ABA's statement.